A hope by Corey Edwards

A Hope

Suicide comes

To mind whenever

I think of my various

Sins and misdeeds

How else can

I make good?

But I live nonetheless

I know to do

Nothing more

Besides, I have the

Sneaking conviction

That something unpleasant

Awaits me were I to

Do the deed.

However I have no illusions

I know that chances are

I will know

A precocious death

And that I am likely

To be my own

Judge and executioner.

I once read that

The only thing that burns in hell

Are the things that

Anchor us to life

Here on earth:

Our hopes, dreams, memories

Disappointments and failures

And that there will be

Demons but they

Are really angels freeing us

From this mortal coil

So that we will be

Ready for eternal bliss

And happiness.

I hope that this is true

But in the end it is

Only speculation

But even though I am sure

That the demon king

Is patiently waiting

For me to expire

Sometimes I want to throw

Myself off a cliff

And hope that the

Angels will catch me.

 

Please like and comment

Leave a comment